Bradford Mutual Sunday School Cricket League

BMSSCL Sponsors

Bradford Mutual Sunday School Cricket League

2008 fixtures now available. Viewable via "Club Directory" or Link from Menu

Founded 1896 a Brief Introduction to our League.

In 1895 representatives of four Sunday school Cricket clubs applied to join the Bradford and District Sunday School cricket League but their applications were rejected.

Instead they approached other Sunday School teams who had only played friendly fixtures to form a League. This was formed by nine clubs to commence in season 1986 : namely:
Bradford Moor Old SS , Daisy Hill MA , Fagley Mission , Girlington , St.Phillips , Heaton Baptists , Marshfield Baptists , Salem Valley congs , St.Andrews Juniors , Westgate UM.

The first Chairman was Mr. Arthur Bulcock and Secretary Mr. Fred Savage. The playing hours due to factory working hours and little public transport were 3:30pm to 6:30pm, In 1909 the first President was elected, namely Mr. D.G. Ackroyd.

In 1909 Sir James Roberts presented a Cup for competition and following the death of Herbert Broadbent a former Chairman in 1935, a Trophy was presented in his memory for Second Team Competition.

The first Annual Presentation Dance was held at the Windsor Hall (Bradford) in 1925. In the same year the League found a permanent Headquarters in the Church House, North Parade (Bradford).

The Jubilee year in 1946 was celebrated by the President Mr. D.G. Ackroyd giving 50 towards a Trophy together with funds in hands purchased three "Dudly Ackroyd" Trophies presented annually to the Champions of A, B, C groups.

In 1948 Mr. Wesley Green & Mr. Walter Thornton both members of Muff Field Wesleyan Reform decided to make permanent contributions to the league and each gave a trophy which bear their names to the Champions of Section 1 and 2.

Former Chairman Mr. Leslie B. Briggs donated in 1970 to the league a Trophy to be presented annually. This to be given to a nominated individual who through his efforts have contributed to the League or his club.

There is also the G. F. Terry Trophies for Batting and Bowling feats. These Trophies were kindly donated by Mrs. Terry in memory of her husband, a well known player in the league for many years. The player scoring the most number of runs and the Bowler taking the most wickets in a season are awarded these Trophies.

Over the years with the closure of many Churches there are now few teams truly connected to a Church or Sunday School. A quick glance through the current member teams of the Bradford Mutual Sunday School League shows a wide range of teams representing the many and varied aspects of the multicultural society that has developed in and around Bradford in recent years.




ARW e-Design